Book Review: Never Lie

Written by:

*Spoilers Ahead*


Author: Freida McFadden

Published: September 19, 2022

Genre: Thriller

Pages: 336

Goodreads rating: 4.11

Dates Read: April 11, 2024 – April 14, 2024

Goodreads Summary:

Newlyweds Tricia and Ethan are searching for the house of their dreams.

But when they visit the remote manor that once belonged to Dr. Adrienne Hale, a renowned psychiatrist who vanished without a trace four years earlier, a violent winter storm traps them at the estate… with no chance of escape until the blizzard comes to an end.

In search of a book to keep her entertained until the snow abates, Tricia happens upon a secret room. One that contains audio transcripts from every single patient Dr. Hale has ever interviewed. As Tricia listens to the cassette tapes, she learns about the terrifying chain of events leading up to Dr. Hale’s mysterious disappearance.

Tricia plays the tapes one by one, late into the night. With each one, another shocking piece of the puzzle falls into place, and Dr. Adrienne Hale’s web of lies slowly unravels.


My Thoughts:

This is the first Freida McFadden book I had ever read and to be honest when it comes to this book, I get the hype. This was such an easy book for me to want to keep reading and not put down.

When I first started reading the book I definitely had a theory about what was going on but I knew it was going to be wrong because it was so incredibly basic. However, I really couldn’t think of any other theories either. With that being said, I also don’t go into books trying to figure out everything that’s going to happen.

I also loved how this book used transcripts of recordings in order to illustrate some of the stuff that happened in the past. I feel like it really feels like you’re in the characters shoes and it makes it feel easier and more interesting to read because the style of writing is changed up.

When the plot twist was revealed I had to out the book down for a second just to process. When I thought back to everything I had read leading up to that point, I feel like I could have guessed it if I was trying to and in some ways I feel like that’s a good thing. To me, that means the plot twist was not too outlandish that it doesn’t make sense. I also liked how there ended up being so many more layers to the plot twist and it really kept me hooked the entire book.

I don’t really have anything bad to say about this book either. I had a great time reading it and it definitely makes me want to pick up some more Freida McFadden books in the future.

My Rating: ★★★★


No quotes stuck out to me in this book 🙂

3 responses to “Book Review: Never Lie”

  1. Olivia Moore Avatar
    Olivia Moore

    I’ve heard of Freida McFadden but have never read any of her books before even though I’ve been wanting to. This book sounds very interesting and I love a good thriller so I will definitely be reading this in my near future!

    Like

  2. Riley Ford Avatar
    Riley Ford

    I’ve heard of this book before and have heard a lot of mixed reviews. I’ve only read a couple thriller books and have been looking for more, so I will definitely add this one to my list!

    Like

  3. Heidi Avatar
    Heidi

    I have recently read McFadden’s The Teacher (finished earlier this week) and the Coworker. Both were great, so I’m adding this to my TBR. I love that there’s always a late in the game plot twist.

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started